In March of this year we uncovered a scam that was being perpetrated by a host on all of their hosting clients. The host is
www.mdgcs.com and they were dynamically adding directories and pages to all of their clients' sites, and also dynamically adding links on their clients' existing pages. The clients couldn't see anything of it because it was all done dynamically, and nothing could be seen by FTP.
When a major search engine spider came along and requested any normal page from a client's site, the host would intercept the request and return the page with some links added. Here are captures of a typical example:-
The bottom of the page that people see:-
http://www.bradford.org.uk/mdgcs/powellmuseum_actual.jpg
The bottom of the page that the spiders were given, complete with additional links to the host's sites:-
http://www.bradford.org.uk/mdgcs/powellmuseum_cache.jpg
And here is the listing that appeared in Google's serps for the page:-
http://www.bradford.org.uk/mdgcs/powellmuseum_listing.jpg
That page was a normal part of the Powell Museum site, but for the search engines, additional links to the host's sites were added at the bottom. This was done by the host, and without the site owner's knowledge, and it was done for all hosted sites.
One of the added links on each of the pages was to a non-existant sub-directory and a non-existant page in the sub-directory. All requests for anything in those non-existant sub-directories were intercepted, and people were redirected to the client site's homepage, while spiders were given a links page. The links page contained links to the host's sites, of course. The caches that are currently showing in Google's serps are typical of those links pages. All of those "outsidelinks4us.html" pages look like that.
A dynamically created sub-directory name is "outsidelinks4uswelike". If you
search Google for it, there 3410 results returned. Again most are Supplemental, but odd ones are not. In fact, that sub-directory name is at the top of a pyramid of subdirectories, and all are fed to spiders but not to people, and all are done without the site owners' knowledge. The first 2 results from that search were spidered very recently (25th September 2005), so that part of the scam is still operational as well.
At the time that the scam was uncovered here, I contacted one of the clients and the host got wind of it very quickly. He came here and admitted he'd done wrong, and he even put a prominent notice on his site to that effect, which also stated that he wouldn't do it any more. I managed to get the attention of GoogleGuy at SEW, and he saw to it that the host was penalised without hurting the innocent clients.
So I'm very surprised to find that the host is still perpetrating the same scam on his clients, as the Google search in the previous post shows.
I think it's time for some more action.